Advisory Members

Victor Gaston

The Hon. Victor Gaston has served in the Alabama House of Representatives since he was first elected in 1982. He was elected Speaker Pro Tempore in 2010. He serves on Rules, Ways and Means General Fund, Transportation, Utilities and Infrastructure (Vice Chair), and Mobile County Legislative Committees. He also chairs two committees, the House and Joint Legislative Council and the Permanent Oil and Gas Study Committee. Representative Gaston serves nationally and regionally on a several committees, the United States Energy Council, and is a former chairman of the Alabama Chapter of the American Exchange Council.


He received a bachelor’s degree from the University of Southern Mississippi, a master’s from the University of South Alabama, and doctor of education from Auburn University.


Representative Gaston is a member of Phi Delta Kappa, has served as a delegate to six consecutive Republican National Conventions, the Rules Committee in 1988, the Credentials Committee in 2000, and served two terms on the National Republican Legislators Board.


He is a board member of the Volunteers of America, Penelope House, Home of Grace for Women, 4-H Club Foundation, SO-MI House, Mobile Area Chamber of Commerce, and the Mobile ARC.


Gaston is also a member of the Advisory Council for the Assistance League of Mobile. He was awarded the Alabama Republican Party Legislative Honors, Humanitarian of the Year for service to those with physical and mental disabilities, the award for Outstanding Service and Contributions from Mobile Deaf Community, Alabama Library Association award for Exceptional Service, Conservation of Alabama Soil and Water Advisory Committee Award, a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Mobile County Republican Executive Committee, and the Distinguished Service Award from the University of South Alabama. Most recently, Gaston received the YMCA’s Youth Advocacy Award, the Electric Cities of Alabama 2013 Legislative Award and Alabama Association of Regional Councils’ Outstanding Elected Official Award.